So I was the first brave soul to try to tube. This is me settling in. It was a bit tricky getting on and off from the boat, but once on the tube, it was pretty solid.

This is a video of my first ride. Fun, but not as daredevil as my second ride, as you will see. :-) Our signal for faster was putting a thumb up in the air, so you will see that. Also, I just want to clarify the "driving drunk" comment in the clip: be assured Alex was NOT drinking and driving the boat. By "driving drunk" he means weaving back and forth in the water to try to knock us off of the tube and get us going horizontally across wakes. Believe me, we weren't going fast enough to do any damage and were very careful boat drivers. :-)
I could have stayed on all day, but decided to give someone else a try. This is me being reeled in.

Alex, our captain of the seas.

Sophie, our co-captain. :-) We found that Sophie liked to be with the driver wherever we were. In the car, in the boat, or anywhere else. I wish I had a video of her first foray in water. We threw her (gently!) into the water where we were swimming, and even though Jeff had his arms right under her, she swam out about 5 feet, and turned right back around and desperately tried to get up the ladder back into the boat. We picked her up out of the water, laughing. I guess she is not a water dog!

Magda was the second one on the tube.

One of the cool things about our boat was that it came with a grill. We bought hot dogs and Alex cooked them for lunch. Let me tell you, it was tricky cooking hot dogs on a boat! They kept rolling around with the movement of the waves and there were a few close calls with some almost getting loose of the grill!

We all took hot dog photos.



Then it was Jeff's turn on the tube. As each one of us went, we built on other people's ideas for tricks to do. Here's the "look mom, no hands!" trick.


Then it was my second turn on the tube and I was determined to get some air and do some tricks. Here is me doing the "look mom, no hands!" trick.

Then I daringly tried to stand up on the tube, but only got this far. I couldn't bring myself to let go with my hands. :-)

In order to get any air, you had to jump up and pull the tube up yourself. It was fun, but got exhausting after awhile.

This is my "synchronized swimmer" pose.

Going backwards...

Then to the side...

Then back to the front!



This is the "I'm king of the world!" pose. Very similar to "look mom, no hands!" but with shouting "I'm king of the world!" :-)


My superman/yoga pose.

I tried putting my hand into the water as I went along...

...and then I tried my head!


I tried moving the tube back and forth, but it didn't really work.
Then I was DONE! Exhausted. I asked them to slow the boat down.

But I wasn't quite prepared for the sudden stop! I almost went face first into the water!
Here you see me attempting to get back in the boat. However, the boat was drifting at a greater speed than the tube, and my arms finally gave up trying to hold the tube at the boat ladder. So, I fell in!

And here I am post-fall! LOL

After Magda's second run, she actually stood up (the tube was no longer moving)!

But then...she lost her balance...

...and fell in!

Alex taking a swim.







The way homs from Yosemite was much easier and shorter than the way there. We saw this beautiful sunset over the mountains in the desert.







No comments:
Post a Comment